Literature, Journalism, Publishing

Known as Full name
L. Frank Baum Lyman Frank Baum author of The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)
A. Scott Berg Andrew Scott Berg Pulitzer Prize for Biography, 1999
Brent Bozell Leo Brent Bozell III founder of the Media Research Center and Cybercast News Service
Lauriston Bullard Frederic Lauriston Bullard journalist; Pulitzer Prize for Editorial, 1927
R. Carlyle Buley Roscoe Carlyle Buley historian; Pulitzer Prize for History, 1951
Lucille Clifton Thelma Lucille Clifton poet, Good Woman
Alistair Cooke Alfred Alistair Cooke British-American journalist and broadcaster
Hart Crane Harold Hart Crane 1920s poet
Michael Crichton John Michael Crichton novelist, producer, director; author of Jurassic Park (1990)
L. Sprague de Camp Lyon Sprague de Camp science fiction, fantasy, and nonfiction writer of 1940s-’60s
L. Franklin Devine L. Franklin Devine producer of television’s “60 Minutes” and “CBS News”
Bruce Dold R. Bruce Dold Editorial page editor, Chicago Tribune; Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Writing, 1994
Frank Dobie James Frank Dobie writer, columnist; 1964 recipient of the Medal of Freedom
Waldo Emerson Ralph Waldo Emerson 19th century philosopher, essayist, poet
F. Scott Fitzgerald Francis Scott Key Fitzgerald novelist; The Great Gatsby (1925)
Allen Ginsberg Irwin Allen Ginsberg poet of 1950s Beat Generation
Zane Gray Pearle Zane Gray author of Old West novels
Dashiell Hammett Samuel Dashiell Hammett author of 1930s detective novels and short stories
J. William Harris J. William Harris Pulitzer Prize finalist for History, 2002
Bret Harte Francis Bret Harte 19th century author and poet; “The Outcasts of Poker Flat”
Burton Heath S. Burton Heath journalist; Pulitzer Prize for Reporting, 1940
DuBose Heyward Edwin DuBose Heyward novelist; Porgy (1924)
John Hughes R. John Hughes Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting, 1967
Langston Hughes James Mercer Langston Hughes Harlem Renaissance poet, novelist, playwright
Brit Hume Alexander Britton Hume, Sr. television journalist and managing editor of Fox News Channel
Don Imus Jon Donald Imus, Jr. radio talk-show host
Fred T. Jane John Fredrick Thomas Jane editor of warship and aircraft reference books
Kent Jones Thomas Kenton Jones televison journalist; contributor to “The Rachel Maddow Show”
Joyce Kilmer Alfred Joyce Kilmer journalist and poet; wrote poem “Trees”
Harper Lee Nelle Harper Lee author of To Kill a Mockingbird (1960); Presidential Medal of Freedom, 2007
Walton Litz Arthur Walton Litz, Jr. literary historian and critic; Princeton professor
J. Anthony Lukas Jay Anthony Lukas journalist; Pulitzer Prize for Special Local Reporting, 1968
Carson McCullers Lula Carson McCullers author, The Heart is a Lonely Hunter
Thomas Merton Louis Thomas Merton author, poet
N. Scott Momaday Navarro Scott Momaday Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, 1969; House Made of Dawn
Soledad O’Brien Maria de la Soledad Teresa O’Brien television journalist; CNN Special Investigation Unit
Flannery O’Connor Mary Flannery O’Connor novelist; The Violent Bear It Away (1960)
Jane Pauley Margaret Jane Pauley TV journalist; NBC’s “Today” and “Dateline”
Scott Peck Morgan Scott Peck author, The Road Less Taken
Max Perkins William Maxwell Evarts Perkins Scribner & Son’s editor; edited work of Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Wolfe, Paton, etc.
Beam Piper Henry Beam Piper sci fi author; Space Viking (1963)
E. Annie Proulx Edna Annie Proulx journalist and author, Pulitzer Prize for Fiction, 1994
Damon Runyon Alfred Damon Runyon journalist and writer of short stories; Guys and Dolls (1932)
Diane Sawyer Lila Diane Sawyer television journalist on ABC
Neil Simon Marvin Neil Simon playwright, screen writer; The Odd Couple, Barefoot in the Park
Shepard Smith David Shepard Smith, Jr. TV news anchor on FOX
Thomas Smith W. Thomas Smith journalist, editor, executive director of World Defense Review
F. Gilman Spencer F. Gilman Spencer Pulitzer Prize for editorial, 1974
Margaret Truman Mary Margaret Truman Daniel novelist and biographer of her parents, Harry and Bess Truman
Emmett Tyrrell Robert Emmett Tyrrell founder, publisher, and editor-in-chief of The American Spectator
Jessamyn West Mary Jessamyn West novelist; The Friendly Persuasion (1945)
T. Harry Williams Thomas Harry Williams historian; Pulitzer Prize for Biography, 1970
C. Vann Woodward Comer Vann Woodward historian; Pulitzer Prize for History, 1982

Comments are closed.